Smashwords Preorders vs. KDP Pre-Orders: The Side-by-Side
Smashwords now takes ebook preorders up to 12 months out, while KDP allows 18. Here's how the two compare on timing, files, and sales rank.

Smashwords Window
Up to 12 months ahead of release
KDP Window
Up to 18 months for Kindle ebook pre-orders
Sales Rank
Smashwords credits all accumulated preorders on release day
By Gundi Gabrielle
4 min read
Pre-orders just got a second serious option for indie authors.
Draft2Digital announced that the Smashwords Store now accepts ebook preorders, up to 12 months ahead of release. That arrives right after KDP stretched its own Kindle pre-order window to 18 months.
If you publish wide, or you're deciding whether to, this is the comparison I wish I could have found in one place. I'm sticking to what each company says in its own words.
What Smashwords announced (the official version)
According to Draft2Digital's press release:
- Authors can list preorders at Smashwords up to 12 months ahead of release.
- You can list a preorder without the final manuscript or cover art, but you need to upload your assets at least 10 business days before the release date.
- All accumulated orders are credited to the book's sales rank on release day.
- Customer credit cards aren't charged until the book is released.
- Smashwords Presales are a separate, complementary option, and they require the final manuscript and cover art.
Draft2Digital also lists Apple Books, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo as retailers it distributes to, and its CEO described preorders and presales as "complementary ways to build buzz around book launches."
What KDP offers (the official version)
On the KDP side, Amazon's Help pages say:
- Kindle ebook pre-orders can now be set up up to 18 months in advance.
- It's ebooks only. Paperbacks and hardcovers can't be pre-ordered, but you can schedule a print release.
- The final file is due more than 72 hours before the release date.
I broke those rules down, plus the postpone and penalty details, in KDP 18-month pre-orders.
The side-by-side
| KDP | Smashwords | |
|---|---|---|
| Longest window | 18 months | 12 months |
| Formats | Kindle ebooks only | Ebooks |
| Files due | More than 72 hours before release | At least 10 business days before release |
| Listing without final files | Not stated for KDP | Yes, as an assetless preorder |
| Customer is charged | At release | At release |
| Rank | KDP counts pre-orders when they're placed | All accumulated orders credited on release day |
Where my table says "not stated," that means I couldn't find it in the official pages, so I'm not going to guess.
π Planning a launch around a pre-order? Golden Bestseller Empire builds your launch plan next to your manuscript. β See how it works
Who should care (and who can relax)
This is useful if:
- You publish wide and want one more place to collect early orders
- You're building anticipation for a series or a nonfiction launch
- You're deciding between exclusive-to-Amazon and going wide, and want one more data point
You can mostly ignore it if:
- You're exclusive to Amazon through KDP Select and not planning to leave
- Your book is almost finished, and a pre-order wouldn't give you much runway
A simple way to decide
- Decide where your readers are. If they're mostly on Amazon, the 18-month window and Amazon's rank mechanics may be all you need.
- If you're wide, remember that Smashwords is now one more storefront to feed with a launch.
- Check your file deadlines before you commit to a release date. The two services want your files at different times.
- Don't set a pre-order date you can't hit. Penalties on KDP, and missed asset deadlines on Smashwords, are real.
Still unknown (and worth watching)
- Whether Smashwords preorders will change how much traffic that store gets.
- How other retailers respond. Draft2Digital's release doesn't say whether it changes preorder rules at the other stores it distributes to.
I keep every change I can verify in one place: the latest Amazon KDP updates. If you're still choosing between KDP Select and going wide, I explain how I decided in my Amazon KDP publishing guide.
A quick note from someone who's been doing this a while
I've only ever sold on Amazon KDP, because in my experience staying exclusive pays off. If you go wide, though, more places to collect early orders is a real advantage, and a pre-order is only as good as the launch plan behind it.
If you only do one thing after reading this: write down the release date, the file deadline, and the day you'll start telling your list.
Frequently Asked Questions
How far ahead can I list a Smashwords preorder?
Authors can list ebook preorders at the Smashwords Store up to 12 months ahead of release, according to Draft2Digital's announcement.
Do I need my final files to list a Smashwords preorder?
No. You can list a preorder without the final manuscript or cover art, but you must upload your assets at least 10 business days before the release date. Smashwords Presales do require final files.
How do Smashwords preorders affect sales rank?
All accumulated preorders are credited to the book's sales rank on release day, and customers aren't charged until the book is released.
How does Smashwords compare with KDP pre-orders?
KDP allows Kindle ebook pre-orders up to 18 months ahead, with the final file due more than 72 hours before release. Smashwords allows up to 12 months, with assets due at least 10 business days before release.
Sources & Citations
- Draft2Digital: Ebook preorder sales now available at the Smashwords Store
- KDP Help: Pre-order eBooks (G201499380)
- KDP Help: Pre-order Cancellation & Postponement (G201499440)
- Living changelog: Amazon KDP & Related Marketplace Changes
This page is maintained independently and is not affiliated with Amazon. Always double-check the latest numbers inside your own KDP account before making pricing decisions.
Found this useful? Get more of this site in your Google.
One tap adds us as a preferred source β Google then shows you our posts more often in Search, Top Stories, and AI Overviews.

Created By

Top 100 Business Author Β· Carnegie Hall Conductor Β· Founder of Golden Bestseller Empire
Hey, I'm Gundi, and for over a decade, I've helped thousands of everyday people turn what they know into a bestselling book.
Along the way, I sold over 350,000 books, and was listed in Amazon's Top 100 Business Author Charts, ahead of authors like Simon Sinek, BrenΓ© Brown, Tim Ferriss, Robert Kiyosaki, or Brian Tracy.
No traditional publisher. No massive budget. Just understanding Amazon's algorithm and researching what readers actually want.
In my earlier years, I was a classical conductor & organist, touring the world, incl. Carnegie Hall & a performance for the Pope on St. Peter's Square.
These days, I love traveling as a Digital Nomad and orchestrating busy AI Agents π. Out of that came Golden Bestseller Empire β a complete AI-Powered Book Publishing Studio now helping authors around the world.
Can't wait to see you inside & help you publish your dream:
Featured In:






More from the Golden Bestseller Blog
KDP Pre-Orders
KDP 18-Month Pre-Orders For Authors (September 2, 2026)
KDP raised the Kindle pre-order cap from 12 to 18 months on September 2, 2026 β the creation-date split, the new postpone math, and when a long pre-order actually helps.
AI Book Publishing
AI in Book Publishing: What Authors Need to Know Before They Publish
AI in book publishing is legal, allowed on Amazon KDP, and works best when AI assists and you write. Here is what the rules say and how Amazon's new algorithm fits in.
KDP Title Limits
KDP's 2-Titles-Per-Week Limit: What Counts as Creating vs. Submitting
KDP now limits you to 2 new titles per format per week, with a separate 2-title limit on submitting. Here's what counts, what doesn't, and when it resets.
Want a faster way to plan and price your next book?
Golden Bestseller Empire's AI publishing tools help with exactly this kind of decision.
